Friday, January 13, 2012

What? A second post? No way!

So, I've been taking my meds for about 9 months now. I started off with 5mg of Ritalin 3 times per day. I realized soon after that I should be taking 10mg and after talking with my psychiatrist, I increased my dosage. Then on a visit about three months ago, he changed me over to Focalin - an extended release version of ritalin. Although I don't get the immediate burst that I do from Ritalin, Dr. Braun definitely knew what he was doing.

here's how I konw my medicaion is working. Yesterday I was driving in to work when I realized I had not taken my mornind dose. Waht's worse is that I left it at home. it's usually in my purse but I had cleanded my purse out and forgotten to put them back in.

I drove in to work a bit nervous on how the day was going to go but I didn't think it could go that wrong. boy was I wrong! During our weekly meeting I was on edge and spouted off to a co-worker that I would normally never disrespect as I have a ton of respect for him. He's one of the best people there...but then again, that's not an easy thing for me to say because I value each person that I work with in my department. Wroking is an easy place to go into when you work with intelligent, hard working and just all around great people.

But, as I normally do, I digress...so back on topic!

So, I made it till around 10:45am when I finally got up the nerve and asked to leave. I explained that I had forgotten to take my meds and I needed to run home to get them. I ran home, took the meds, came back and the day went much smoother. I will admit that I was quite exhausted, but that was due to the stress that I put myself through that morning. But that day was the wake up call that I needed that not only were the meds working but I had done the right thing in finally going to get tested.

No comments:

Post a Comment